Fixing Monitors in LXDE

Since I installed Fedora, I’ve been unable to run the computer with both, the external monitor, and the laptop monitor at the same time. So, I’ve decided to just run the external monitor, since it is bigger. I haven’t really spent too much time looking for a solution to this problem, but the times I’ve tried fixing it, I haven’t had any success.

Earlier this week, after getting tired of seeing a high amount or RAM usage, I decided to stop using GNOME, and use OpenBox without a desktop environment instead. This was easy to do. In the log screen, there is an option on the bottom where I have the options to use GNOME, LXDE, and OpenBox. I simply chose OpenBox. However, despite seeing a huge improvement on memory consumption, I was rather soon disappointed by the amount of configuration I had to do every time I turned the computer on. Sometimes I would have to log out, log into LXDE, change the monitor settings there, and see if that would work. The problem was that OpenBox would try to use both monitors, even when the external monitor was not plugged in! This cause me to not be able to see the windows, which by default would get placed in the area of the external monitor, but this would not get any signal.

As you may imagine, this quickly became too much trouble. Especially since there were no actual memory problems while running GNOME, I was just simply trying to reduce memory consumption.

Motivated by these inconveniences, I decided to give LXDE a try. LXDE also uses OpenBox as the window manager, but LXDE is a desktop environment, which means there is a lot of added benefit, such as a desktop, and a panel. All of this, while keeping memory consumption surprisingly low.

However, I made a mistake. I opened the Monitor Settings, and set the laptop monitor off by default, and the external monitor on by default. This had the same effect as OpenBox did. This time, however, I could not log into LXDE to fix it, since I was already in LXDE. I was effectively unable to see anything, since the output was being sent to the external monitor, but the monitor was receiving no signal.

Knowing that the settings must be saved somewhere, I decided to look into it. I opened the tty (ctrl+alt+F1), which fortunately runs on the laptop monitor, logged in, and decided to look in the ~/.config directory. I reviewed a couple of files before I decided to open ~/.config/autostart/lxrandr-autostart.desktop

This file has settings to start xrandr. Once I opened this file, it was just a matter of turning off the VGA-0 monitor, and turning on the LVDS monitor, which was turned off. Once I did this, I restarted the computer (sudo shutdown -r now), and I was able to login with a desktop. Then I opened the Monitor Settings again, and set the monitors to show only the external one, and apply the settings, but not save them.

I think I will have to do this every time I turn the computer on, but it may be worth it.

I still need to look for a solution that allows me to have both monitors at the same time, but for now that is not something I want to spend a lot of time on.