Developing an AIR Application

So I was curious about whether people still use Adobe AIR. I headed up to adobe.com and started browsing through the AIR section. Then I started reading the documentation, which is pretty useful. I’ve been pretty much reading that exclusively, although I do have some links to share later today.

For quite some time now, I’ve been meaning to write an application to keep track of my income, and make it easier for me to report my income for taxing purposes. However, I had not decided on which language to write it. I knew that I did not want it to be on the net, since private information will be stored in there, and as people say, if you don’t want something to be publicly accessible, you should never upload it to the web. I considered developing on Node.js, and run it on my local server, but that did not seem like a good idea because I want to have access to it even when I travel. For that, and other reasons mostly leaning to the side of laziness, I had not started this personal project. However, this sudden return of AIR to my mind motivated me to take another look at this application, and I decided to develop it in AIR.

For now I’m going to work on some pencil sketches for the design, then design the application in the browser, since I’ve lately taken on this idea of designing in the browser, but that is material for a different post; finally I will develop the AIR application. I will be logging my work here, so be ready to follow this series of articles.

For now all I know about the application that I want to build is that is has to allow me to register income, and all the details related to each record, like client, amount, fees paid to the gateway that processed the transaction, date, and maybe some other data. I also want to be able to see a graphical representation of the transactions by month, and maybe by week, and in the future, by year. Moreover, an always-good feature is the ability to filter the data, so I want to be able to filter by date, month, client, and quantity.

As you can see the application is quite simple, and if we wanted to, we could just simple do a search on the web and find at least a few applications that already do this, but since the idea here is to have absolute control over the application so that we can expand it as we please, it is better to develop our own. Besides, the learning experience will be invaluable.