Storage Space is a Lie

I just recently moved from my old place in the not-so-interesting city of Oakland to the more familiar city of Los Angeles. I lived in Los Angeles before, and I find it to be a bit more dynamic than Oakland. Although, I should mention that I don’t really like L.A. that much. I always thought I was a city kind of person. I like walking around big buildings, and going into malls just to look around, but L.A. is a city that was never really well planned, if it was planned at all. It just expanded and never really became anything other than a big web of streets that are usually a pain to walk because of the cooking heat that never really ends.

When I was packing my stuff, I realized that I have too much stuff. More than I want, and certainly more than I need. When I first got to the U.S. I was carrying nothing more than just few clothes, a sleeping bag, and a huge math book. Today I own a lot more books, a lot more clothes, and no sleeping bag. However, I own more than just that, I have two computers, monitors, speakers, a big new desk, the table I used as my desk for a year, a couple more little tables, pans, knifes, cooking utensils, a nice rice cooker, a big tall chair, and the list goes on and on. I could get rid of most of this, and it would not really affect me in any way. However, any time I set to get rid of the things that I don’t use, I end up not throwing away anything, and event worst, I realize I “need” more stuff. “Hey, how about a bookshelf?, or more hangers?, or a lamp?, What about a couch?”

I don’t use most of the stuff I have, but I don’t want to get rid of it. At the same time, I don’t want to have it at home because it is just wasting space. This is a predicament a lot of people find at some point in their lives. The solution? storage space!

No more than 5 blocks away from my current apartment, there is a storage space building. It is really convenient because you pay a small fee per month, and you can put all the things you don’t use, and you don’t want at home, but that you don’t want to get rid of. All those things that you will probably never see again after you put them away have a place of their own now. No more wasted space at home. But this, my friends, is a lie.

Why is it so hard to get rid of the things we own? There are a lot of things we can just get rid of, but there are even more things that we can’t. I have a ton of sketches, and drawings that I never take out. I never sit and look at them, or bring a friend over and show them to that friend. They are just there. They are not good drawings, and most of them are not even finished, but I just can’t seem to get rid of them. We cling on to this kind of things because they remind us of something, and we feel like if we get rid of them, that part of our life is going to disappear in some old memory, but as long as we keep that something, we can always remember that part of our life.

We have taken this problem to our digital lives. The early solution was to burn disks of the things we wanted to preserve, but to delete from the computer. I know people who have hundreds of disks filled with old files, photos, and music. At some point disks were not enough, and another medium was making an appearance: welcome, “the cloud.”

The cloud is one of those things that are so good, that they turn bad.The concept of the cloud is a nice one; you have a place on cyberspace where you can store anything you want to, and it will be available to you at any moment, from any device. This can be nothing but good. No longer do you need to worry if your computer has 500 GB of HD space, of 1TB. You just buy a computer, and let the cloud take care of storing your stuff. It will be available from anywhere, any time. But is it really?

The problem I’ve always encounter with the cloud is that no one can guarantee you that their server will always be accessible. Even the huge Amazon had problems not long ago. These problems affected a lot of people who relied on Amazon’s cloud to run their services.

There are of course some other problems with the cloud. For example, would you gather all your pictures, and hand them to a total stranger to keep them from you? What about those sexy pictures that your wife let you take on the honeymoon? Lets not forget the picture of you baby. Oh, and what about that video tape that a lot of couples seem to be doing nowadays. Next thing you know the service you are using had a security breach and that video is on some .xxx-domain website. This would be like that building I was talking about earlier being robbed and all your stuff is gone.

Storage space is supposed to solve a problem, but in reality, it is just allowing us to continue clinging on to those things we don’t need, use or want anymore, but that we can’t just throw away. That is why storage space is a lie.

Afterword:
This is an ill-written article. There are a lot of errors in the text, and I am aware of it. I did not try to write a master piece, or even a good article, I just wanted to say this “out loud.” I’ve had a storage space service’s website on my tabs for a while now, and that is in fact why I initially thought of writing this.