Importing CDs as MP3 With Banshee

Yesterday, when I was getting ready for my trip I decided to add the new Selah Sue CD to my mp3 player. When I tried, I couldn’t do it. It was strange because I could add some other songs, but not those. After checking I found out that the songs were in ogg format rather than mp3. That was strange. I had Banshee set to transfer files as mp3, and not ogg. I know, ogg is better, but those stupid mp3 players don’t play ogg.

I tried to import the CD again but as mp3 but I couldn’t. At some point, with some update I lost that ability. I don’t quite remember what plugin I added last time, so I did a quick search. A post suggested installation of the gstreamer0.10-lame plugin, so I tried that:

sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-lame

but the computer said that there was no candidate release for that plugin, and that it had been replaced by gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly so that is what I installed:

sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly

Now importing as mp3 works.

As a side note, personally I like the way they named the plugin (ugly) since mp3 is an ugly format.

The post I read is located at: http://engineering.zowers.net/2009/01/enabling-mp3-audio-cd-importing-in.html